Thursday, March 31, 2011

on yoga way...

Ten guidelines to life and living, fall under the category of Yama (restraints) and Niyamas (observances).

The first two yamas are

  • ahimsa = non violence
  • satya = truthfulness
The practice of non-violence consists of being aware of and not using thoughts, words or any form of physical violence against oneself.  When this is achieved, then practicing the same non-violence against others is an extension of oneself.

Truthfulness, seems simple, but is as challenging as ahimsa.  Truth is not, when it shows in the untruths we speak or sometime not speak; satya is not possible with a "violating" approach.

Ahimsa and Satya when practiced in its true essence and spirit, is a major part of living the yoga way.

No comments:

Post a Comment